

Legislation Text

File #: ID#19-757, Version: 1

AGENDA CAPTION:

Discuss and consider appointments or reappointments to Positions One and Five of the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone (TIRZ) No. 5 (Downtown) Board of Directors, and provide direction to Staff. **Meeting date:** December 3, 2019

Department: City Clerk

Amount & Source of Funding Funds Required: N/A Account Number: N/A Funds Available: N/A Account Name: N/A

Fiscal Note:

Prior Council Action: The City Council approved Resolution 2011-150R on December 6, 2011. The Council designated the area with the adoption of Ordinance 2011-74 on December 14, 2011. The termination date was extended to December 31, 2021 with the adoption of Ordinance 2016-52 on December 6, 2016.

<u>City Council Strategic Initiative:</u> [Please select from the dropdown menu below]

N/A

Choose an item.

Choose an item.

<u>Comprehensive Plan Element (s)</u>: [Please select the Plan element(s) and Goal # from dropdown menu

below]

- Economic Development Choose an item.
- □ Environment & Resource Protection Choose an item.
- □ Land Use Choose an item.
- □ Neighborhoods & Housing Choose an item.
- □ Parks, Public Spaces & Facilities Choose an item.
- □ **Transportation -** Choose an item.
- □ Not Applicable

Master Plan: [Please select the corresponding Master Plan from the dropdown menu below (if applicable)]

Choose an item.

Background Information:

On December 6, 2011, the City of San Marcos adopted Resolution No. 2011-150R, approving an Interlocal Agreement between Hays County and the City of San Marcos related to the "San Marcos, Texas Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 5." The full text of Resolution No. 2011-150R is attached.

On December 14, 2011 the Council designated the boundaries of the zone. The area is bounded by Concho Street, Moore Street, North Street, Comanche Street, Shady Lane, Fredericksburg Street, Hull Street, Guadalupe Street, Ih-35, McKie Street, LBJ Drive and CM Allen Street. A map is also attached.

On December 6, 2016 the Council voted to extend the termination date of the TIRZ to December 31, 2021.

On November 26, 2019 the Hays County Commissioners Court confirmed and maintained the appointments of Commissioner Debbie Gonzales-Ingalsbe.

The City Council will also need to nominate and appoint a member to serve as chair for a term of one year. The City Council authorizes the Board of Directors to elect from its members a vice chair and such other officers as the Board of Directors determines.

Bobby Warren is being proposed to continue as the mutually agreed upon position. Hays County has confirmed.

Position #1 (COSM) (Chair) - Jane Hughson, Expires December 31, 2019

Position #2 (COSM) - Ed Mihalkanin, Expires December 31, 2020.

Position #3 (Hays County)- Commissioner Debbie Gonzales-Ingalsbe, Expires December 31, 2021 (appointed on 11/26 at Commissioners Court)

Position #4 (Hays County) - Commissioner Lon Shell, Expires December 31, 2020.

Position #5 (Mutually Agreed Upon)- Bobby Warren, Expires December 31, 2021. (Confirmed with County, this is their nomination)

Position #1, 5 will commence on January 1, 2020 and expire December 31, 2021

Council Committee, Board/Commission Action:

Click or tap here to enter text.

Alternatives:

Click or tap here to enter text.

Recommendation:

Click or tap here to enter text.