

City of San Marcos

630 East Hopkins San Marcos, TX 78666

Legislation Text

File #: Res. 2018-216R, Version: 1

AGENDA CAPTION:

Consider approval of Resolution 2018-216R, appointing a member and alternate members to the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization ("CAMPO") Board; and declaring an effective date.

Meeting date: November 20, 2018

Department: City Clerk's Office

Amount & Source of Funding

Funds Required: N/A Account Number: N/A Funds Available: N/A Account Name: N/A

Fiscal Note:

Prior Council Action: City Council last appointed representatives to CAMPO on January 3, 2017 following the 2016 Election.

City Council Strategic Initiative: [Please select from the dropdown menu below]

Public Transit

Choose an item.

Choose an item.

<u>Comprehensive Plan Element (s)</u>: [Please select the Plan element(s) and Goal # from dropdown menu below]

☐ Economic Development - Choose an item.
☐ Environment & Resource Protection - Choose an item.
☐ Land Use - Choose an item.
☐ Neighborhoods & Housing - Choose an item.
Parks. Public Spaces & Facilities - Choose an item.

☑ Transportation - Choose an item.

☐ Not Applicable

<u>Master Plan</u>: [Please select the corresponding Master Plan from the dropdown menu below (if applicable)] Choose an item.

Background Information:

The Transportation Policy Board (TPB) provides policy guidance and direction for CAMPO. The board is made up of elected officials and designated representatives from across the six county area. There are 20 voting members of the board with a chair and a vice-chair. The TPB meets monthly, typically on the second Monday of the month or as needed.

Mayor John Thomaides has served on the board since 2017 and will now need to be replaced.

Mayor Jane Hughson has indicated that she would like to serve on this board.

File #: Res. 2018-216R, Version: 1

The Council may also appoint alternate members to attend meeting of the Board and vote if the Mayor is absent.

Staff recommends that another member of Council and the following City Staff be appointed as alternates: Laurie Moyer, Tom Taggart, and Sabas Avila.

Council Committee, Board/Commission Action:

Click or tap here to enter text.

Alternatives:

Click or tap here to enter text.

Recommendation:

Click or tap here to enter text.